By Elizabeth Lee


Seventeenth-century Lancashire is a dark place. Ten years after the notorious Pendle witch trials, Sarah Haworth and her family live as outcasts. The inhabitants of the nearby village despise 'cunning folk' like them, but their services will always be in demand. A chance meeting sees Sarah become acquainted with Daniel, a young man from the village. As they are drawn closer together, a new magistrate arrives in the area to investigate a spate of strange deaths befalling the villagers. Inevitably, his eye falls on Sarah's family and in the face of persecution, something as fragile as love seems impossible.

Sample Player

Narrator Taj Atwal
Length 10hrs
Catalogue No. 14904
Publisher Penguin Audio; 2021