By Dorothy Whipple


This 1939 country-house novel is set at Saunby Priory, a large house somewhere in England which has seen better times. We are shown the two Marwood girls, who are nearly grown-up, their father, the widower Major Marwood, and their aunt; then, as soon as their lives have been described, the Major proposes marriage to a woman much younger than himself - and many changes begin.

Sample Player

Narrator Grace Dives
Length 16hrs
Catalogue No. 14340
Publisher Persephone; 2005
Other audiobooks by Dorothy Whipple